Sometimes, I lose all hope. I think it's all over, it never meant anything, and that I was just a toy.

     "I had a nightmare last night," Jenny said, "and in it, you left me. You said to me that there's no point with you and me, since all we do is row all the time, and I'm not that good a fuck, anyways."
     She heard the other girl snicker.
     "Stop laughing!" Jenny cried out. "You don't realize how much you mean to me. You never have. Sometimes I think you're incapable of loving. Sometimes, you hurt me so much that it feels like I can't stand, sit, sleep, cry, or breathe. Do you know what it feels like to be so dependent on somebody?"
     Jenny held back tears.
There's no going back now that I've started, she thought. "You've never loved me as much as I love you, I know that. Sometimes I think you hate me, sometimes I think that you might even like me. But it's rare that I believe you when you tell me you love me. Do you know what it feels like to love someone so much that you'd do anything for them? I love you. So much that I'd die for you if I had to. But you wouldn't know what that feels like."
     Now she was crying, and all she could hear on the other end of the phone line was quiet breathing.
This is it, Jenny thought. She's going to leave me for real this time, I'll be all alone, and it won't be like last night; I won't wake up in cold sweat and hug my teddy. This time it's for real.
     Then she heard a quiet whisper on the other end of the line.
     "I would any day die for you."

But then, when I see you, or even get a text message with "<3" at the end of it, I forget that I ever doubted anything.

Foolish? Yeah, I know, but please, don't burst my bubble. It's nice and warm in here.