I love the arts. All forms of it. Music, visual arts, literature, dance; the whole lot. I always have, ever since I was a baby.

I've got the most hilarious picture ever stashed somewhere in my room, I wish I could find it. I'm really young, probably not even three years old since my younger brother's nowhere to be seen. I'm sitting by the living room table with this absolutely enormous set of headphones on, singing along to Creedence Clearwater Revival (or well, singing along as well as any two-year-old who doesn't know a word of English can) and drawing with a large, yellow crayon. I don't know why, but the picture makes me smile every time I see it.

There really wasn't any point in that story; I just wanted to share it.

Anyways, back to what I was thinking when I started writing this.
So I was talking on IM with my friend Minna. She showed me two of her latest sketches and asked what they communicate to me. I told her that I really can't say; art in the form of pictures and sculptures has never spoken to me as much as music, literature, or dance. (Oh, and by the way: Those of you who don't consider dancing an art? Well, consider again.) Dance and music are, at least to me, similiar in the way that while they both create more feeling than reason in my mind, it's still possible to analyze them to some extent. Though I hate using the word "analyze" on art; it always feels like I'm somehow violating it. Breaking down to pieces and poking on something that's supposed to be just there to be admired. Literature, however, has never created as much feeling in me as other forms of art. I mean, of course some pieces of literature do, but mostly literature affects my mind, my reason. It makes me thing, not feel. Art in the form of images, however, makes me purely feel. Whether it's Claude Monet's Water Lily Pond (which happens to be one of my favourite paintings of all time) or Pablo Picasso's Weeping Woman (which makes me want to gauge my eyes out with a fork), it creates some emotion in me; not stimulation for my brain. It's always been that way, and I actually like it.

My favourite artists are probably Van Gogh and Monet. I've always seen Van Gogh's work as a representation of human life (though I know it's not, mind you): It's really beautiful and amazing, but there's just something really odd about it, something's just akward there. The thing about Monet that I like is, as cliché as it may sound, the way he uses colours in his paintings. I've always had a thing for more "classical" art, such as the works of Monet, while more "modern" forms such as cubism and surrealism just really make me cringe. Take the works of Picasso, for example. I hate it. Every time I see a Picasso painting, it makes me feel uncomfortable, akward, and hyper-aware of myself. I don't know why; it's the same way with all more-or-less modern art.

Anyway, the point of this entry? None, I guess. Except for that art = love.

I'm skiving off Psychology class and eating banana chocolate ice cream.