I was reading an old fairy tale, and I started thinking about the 3 last words. "Happily ever after." Is there such a thing? Apparently there can be for some people, 'cause I know couples who really were together 'till death did them part. My father's parents got married when they were 17 and 20 years old, and they were together until Grandpa died. But then again, they were from a generation when divorce wasn't as accepted, their only choice was to work it out, to prove to each other that they loved enough to work through the rough patches. These days, if couples have a rough patch, they get a divorce 'cause that's what people do nowadays. The concept of "till death do us part" doesn't get any respect anymore. I think that if you shouldn't get married unless you actually are prepared to spend the rest of your life together. Of course, there are exceptions to every rule; for example, if Sue and Tommy are married and one day Sue comes home to find Tommy having a threesome with Peter and Dave, then divorce might be up for a discussion. But Tommy shouldn't have made the commitment if he knew he liked people like Peter and Dave. Of course, if he realized this after he married Sue, that's okay, I guess. It's complicated. But still, back to my first question.
Is there a possibility of "happily ever after" for everyone? Is there actually someone out there for everyone? Someone who you can love and who will love you back 'until death does thee part? Yeah, I think so. But I do definitely not believe in the whole thing about the one, because if that were true, what would happen if your spouse dies? For example, take my grandparents. My grandfather died of a stroke when I was 5 years old. I know that my grandma loved him. But now, she's got a happy relationship with a man she loves named Kalevi. She loved grandpa, and now she loves Kalevi. If the whole thing with the one would be true, then this couldn't happen.
Will I ever get my happily ever after? I've been thinking about this for the weekend. Right now, my life, to be honest, is straight from hell. All I do at home is argue with my parents and brother, I snap at my friends for nothing, I'm incredibly stressed over schoolwork, just the idea of a long-distance relationship scares the shit out of me (my gf's moving to another town), and I'm really scared that she'll find someone else. And if that weren't enough, I'm under a shitload of stress because I need to lose weight and gain more muscle strenght and get in better shape if I ever want to get into the pilot training where I want to go after high school. All of this is topped with Mom, continuously reminding me of what a disappointment I am. I guess I could say I'm worried about the future.
So where's my happily ever after? I hope it'll come soon.

I wanna be happy now, not in 25 years. -Fucking Åmål (Show Me Love)

___

I had my Swedish course exam today. Whoop-de-friggin-doo. It went really well, and then I read the last question, which was a short essay. It took all my strenght to control myself so that I wouldn't laugh out loud. "You've just celebrated Midsummer for the first time in Sweden. Write a diary entry about your experience." I was really incredibly amused, because the minimum word count was 100, and if I would be celebrating Midsummer with my friends, I wouldn't remember 100 words worth of things.

___

Time goes by
So slowly
-Madonna, "Hung Up"

Really. It seems like the last, say, month has been the slowest of my life. It's probably because I haven't done anything... anything... I don't know. Do you ever feel like your whole life, everything that you want and have ever dreamed of, is just falling apart right in front of you, and there's absolutely nothing you can do about it?